Developing ideas

 

Following on from the pelvis piece I began to think about ways in which muscles and bones can be mirrored to create an image that looked like organs. I was inspired by the raw emotion of separation that was apparent in Damien Hurts piece. I began looking into the process of birth, pregnancy and the gory reality of labor. I also looked into post natal depression in both humans and animals. Dairy farms force repeated pregnancy on animals to produce everlasting lactation the calves are then killed for meat. I began to become interested in the idea that these animals are dead despite being alive so I started researching organs that give us life. The lungs and heart in particular are a vital element of existence. I began to explore the fetus, I mirrored two underdeveloped fetuses to create an image of a lung I then used ink to distort the image and create an abstract aesthetic.

Leave a Reply

