Developing ideas

IMG_4734IMG_4748

I began to look back over my ink drawings but I wanted to add an element of subtlety yet provoke a natural parental response from the audience. I began to look into the anatomy of a baby chick, I began to look closely at the animal using Photoshop and noticed that if the image is mirrored it looks similar to a stomach organ. I decided to recreate this through ink and pencil. However, I then wanted to add an element of innocence to the image. I wanted to depict and display protection and safety which is something that I feel for the chick. I began to use white string to highlight its beauty and purity but most importantly its value and importance. I wanted to create an image that was beautiful and gentle and couldn’t be overlooked much like the horror of factory farming.

Leave a Reply

