Developing Research

After my research on factory farms I began to look into the slaughter of baby animals. I felt that as a society we naturally have more empathy for the innocence of children so why should it be any different for animals? I came across the fact that Because the male chicks of egg-laying breeder hens are unable to lay eggs and are not bred to produce excessive flesh for the meat industry, they are killed. Every year, 200 million of these young birds are ground up alive or tossed into bags to suffocate. In particular I began to look into baby vermin such as mole rats, rats and of course baby chicks. I wanted to create images that would be beautiful and represent their value as life not as price tags.

Leave a Reply

