Final development process

I decided that the materials I would use would be raw and organic. I wanted to use a material that would demand an emotional reaction from the audience. I decided to use baby rats also known as pinkies to display the concept of mass production and consumerism. I planned to de gut the rats and then stuff them with cotton wool to try to delay the decaying process. However, this did not go to plan as the rats were to small to cut open and I misjudged the difficulty of this process. Therefore, I had to use the rats in their defrosted fleshy form which meant as soon as they were displayed they would begin the decaying process. This situation wasn’t ideal as the piece itself was meant to display beauty however I think the decaying process relates to the works unapologetic natural personality

Leave a Reply

